President Panuelo Signs Executive Order Establishing & Organizing a Public Education Task Force on the Proposed Constitutional Amendments Adopted by the 4th FSM Constitutional Convention

PALIKIR, Pohnpei—On September 6th, 2022, His Excellency David W. Panuelo—President of the Federated States of Micronesia (FSM)—signed an Executive Order establishing and organizing a Public Education Task Force on the proposed constitutional amendments adopted by the 4th FSM Constitutional Convention. The function of the Public Education Task Force is to conduct a fair, transparent, balanced, and effective public education and public awareness campaign in order to inform, educate, and familiarize voters concerning the issues relating to the constitutional amendments. The proposed amendments shall be placed on the ballot for the special election to fill the vacancies in Congress following the inaugural session of the 23rd FSM Congress; it is highly plausible that this special election would occur in early July 2023.

The Public Education Task Force will be Chaired by the Secretary of Justice, with the Deputy Secretary of Foreign Affairs serving as the Vice Chair. Members of the Public Education Task Force include the Secretary of Finance & Administration; the Secretary of Transportation, Communication, & Infrastructure; the Secretary of Education; the National Election Director; the Acting Director of the FSM National Archives; the Secretary of Foreign Affairs; the FSM Ambassador to the United States of America; the FSM’s Consuls General based in the United States of America; the Special Assistant to the President on Legislative Affairs; the FSM Public Information Officer and Press Secretary to the President of the FSM; the President of the College of Micronesia-FSM; and representatives from the FSM’s States Chambers of Commerce.

Delegates to the Constitutional Convention designated by the respective Chairs of the State delegations shall join the Task Force, with three members from the Chuuk delegation, two members from the Pohnpei delegation, and one member each from the Kosrae and Yap delegations respectively.

The Speaker of the 22nd Congress is invited to nominate four representatives from the Congress to take part in the membership and activities of the Task Force.

The Governors of Yap, Chuuk, Pohnpei, and Kosrae are invited to nominate two representatives to the Task Force to serve as members.

The President’s Executive Order describes that the Public Education Task Force “shall mandate the involvement and cooperation of international NGOs and civil society by inviting them to join and assist in the activities of the Task Force in conducting public education of the proposed constitutional amendments.” The Executive Order explicitly names the COFA Alliance National Network (CANN); We Are Oceania; and the FSM Association of Guam.

The President’s Executive Order can be found here: